Happy Scraps

My ramblings on day to day life as a mom of six kids, traditional paper scrapbooking and digital scrapping.

I’m All Set…So Now What? February 6, 2007

Filed under: Everyday Life,scrapbook — Becky Adams @ 8:02 am

A couple of months ago, Rodney (my dh) decided to spoil me.  I mean really spoil me.  This man went on a spending spree and bought me everything (well, okay, *almost*everything) on my digi-scrapping-too-expensive-for-me-to-have wish list.

First came the new computer.  I was happy with my old one.  Or at least, I *thought* I was happy with my old one. The new one is lightning fast and I love love love it!  Second came the external hard drive.  256 gigs of pure pleasure.  I never knew how beautiful an external hard drive could be.  Should you ever have the opportunity to get one, just do it.  You won’t regret it.

Then came the 19″ flat screen monitor.  WOW!  What a difference this thing has made!  I never realized the difference having a large screen could make until I actually owned one.  I went back through all of my older layouts and saw details that I had never known were there.  I saw textures and colors and little things that I’d missed before.  I realized that some of my favorite designers were way more talented than I had given them credit for.  And, after viewing my own pages in detail, I proudly announced to dh, “I am the best scrapbooker EVER!!!”  rofl  Yeah, I know I’m not, but I sure felt like it after seeing my pages up close like that. 

This weekend, Rodney had another surprise for me.  He came home with black leather executive chair.  This thing is soooo comfy!  It’s on wheels too, so I can quickly go from digi to paper to digi again without even getting up!  lol  I’ve been so comfy that I don’t want to get up for those boring things like washing dishes and such.  Lovin’ this new chair!

So now I’m all set….new computer, new external hard drive, new flatscreen monitor, new chair.  What now?  Rodney did all of this in an effort to help me begin designing my own stuff.  What?!  I mentioned that I’d love to be able to do that, but didn’t think I actually would be asked to.  lol  Now he’s telling me that I need to learn how to do it.  Well, that sounds easy enough.

 Turns out, designing your own stuff is pretty hard.  I don’t know how you designers do it!  I’ve read different tutorials on supposedly simple things.  I figured that surely I could make my own brad.  Nope.  Can’t do it.  I was reduced to tears when I tried to make my own textured paper. 

So all this new stuff is really super nice and I’m super happy to have it all.  But apparently, super nice stuff does not make you a super great designer.  So, for now, I will continue to just enjoy using what others have made without making any of my own.  But if there’s anyone out there who wants to come to my house, talk to me like I’m 2yrs old and show me step-by-step how to make my own stuff…I’m all for that!!! 

 

One Response to “I’m All Set…So Now What?”

  1. Karen Says:

    Wow your Rodney sounds like a wonderful caring and thoughtful man. Definitely a Keeper!

    If you want to design your own stuff you might like to check out the Scrap Girls site. They have lots of templates and tutorials to help you design patterned papers and embellishments. Just make sure you check out the commercial terms and conditions if you are planning to sell your designs.

    I wrote a review of the Scrap Girls site on my blog. You might find it helpful to get you going.


Leave a Reply

