Happy Scraps

My ramblings on day to day life as a mom of six kids, traditional paper scrapbooking and digital scrapping.

This Manual, This Game, This RAK March 20, 2007

Filed under: Everyday Life — Becky Adams @ 9:05 am

Jaime at Create My Keepsake issued a challenge…to write about something that’s your favorite right now. 

Okay, so this isn’t my absolute favorite, but it is something that I’m spending a lot of time with right now.  This is the manual for my brand new Sony Cybershot Camera!  This camera is so totally cool!  But it has lots of bells and whistles that I haven’t figured out yet.  So I’m spending a great deal of time with this little book, trying to learn my camera.

Wanna see something from my past that makes me smile?  Take a look at this:

Two things in this picture make me smile.  One is my big brother.  He’s recently passed and I miss him terribly, but I still smile when I look at this picture.  It’s so totally “Neil.”  Second…take a look at the game he’s playing.  Remember that game?  I could play it over and over again and never get tired of it.  In fact, Neil and I used to fight over that game all the time.  lol  Ah, the 80’s!  The sad thing is that I can’t remember the name of the game.  Was it Simple Simon?  Does anybody out there remember the name of this game?  I really wanna know!

Let’s have some fun with this.  Leave a comment on this post telling about one of your favorite childhood games.  On Saturday, I’ll randomly draw a winner and that person will get a fun RAK from me.  Sound fun?  I thought so.  :)

 

28 Responses to “This Manual, This Game, This RAK”

  1. Sarah Says:

    SIMON! I was sooooo addicted to that game as a kid! Up until probably a year or so ago, I had a mini version on my keychain, until Morgan decided she had to have it..lol

  2. jeni16 Says:

    One of my favorite games when I was a kid was Mouse Trap. I liked Simon though too!

  3. Bobbie Says:

    I loved playing lots of board games. One that I can remember was “Emergency”. It was based on the 70’s TV series of the same name. :)

  4. Telah Says:

    I came to see your scrapjack and saw this post. I remember the Simon game too! One of my favs was the Rubitz (sp?) Cube….I thought about it the other day. I wonder if they still sell them. Thanks for bringing back some great memories! Have a great day.

  5. Sarah Says:

    Ya know, I wanted to say..when I first saw this picture, I glanced at it and thought it was Stephen until I read the post.

  6. Jennifer E Says:

    I loved Madcap Marathon!

  7. Shirley Says:

    My girls played with Simon!! Tells you I’m older than most of you! I always loved Monopoly. Now I’m in real estate and still buying and selling properties!

  8. Robin Says:

    Yes!! I knew it was SIMON! We had that, in fact I think it is still in my parents basement!!! :)
    I loved the game SORRY….

  9. Erin Says:

    LOVED this game…it’s SIMON!!! My favorite childhood game was SORRY!! I have a ton of memories of our family playing it together! Loved reading your blog too!! Thanks!

  10. Martha Says:

    I loved to play Simon too. We also loved to play a card game called “Flinch”.

  11. Tammy Says:

    My MIL still has one of these Simon games, and my kids play with it all the time!

    One of my favorites when I was a kid was the game of Sorry! We have a new one now, and my own kids like to play it, too. Although, when I play with them, they like to team up against me!

    Oh, and to the person who wondered about the Rubik’s cube… yes, they still make them. My 13 year old just got one for her birthday, and she loves playing with it!

  12. SIMON!! My sister had one of those and I loved to play with that thing! Another of my favorite games was the Rubik cube. I used to have one that had the deck of cards on it as well as one that had the regular colors. Even had a small keychain one at one time. Hmmmm…. I need to see if I can locate one of those… I have a feeling my boys would love those things.

  13. Rhonda Says:

    We didn’t have board games at my house – we tended to play outdoors so I guess my fav game would have to have been cowboys – we pretended that the fence was the horse and oh yes we straddled and rode the fence for hours! The mind boggles at the thought.

  14. I too loved Simon but my favortite game was SORRY! One rainy day, my ex-husband and I played the game for like 3 hours and I beat him like 6-8 times. I love it because you just can’t cheat at it!

  15. kansas Says:

    I loved Monopoly and Pool! I have three older brothers, an older sister, and a younger one. We all used to play these two for hours and hours!

  16. Holly Says:

    O MY GOSH I LOVE simple SImon!!! This game was so much fun! LOVED playing against my dad.. We would take turns to see who got the furthest.. OOO The memories… I dont have a photo of those times sadly enough , but the thoughts and memories are still something to remember.. :D

  17. Holly Says:

    OK Found this for you too!! :) Im sure youll love playing it as much as I do.. I had to search it after reading your blog post here

    http://www.free-coloring-pages.com/game/simon/index.html

  18. I really liked the Simon Says game too. But i think the most fun thing was to get the adults to play Connect Four with me and then watch them get embarrassed when i beat them at 5 years old! LOL

  19. Pat Says:

    Fun question! I loved Mousetrap too – the game of Life,
    and my Spirograph!

  20. sara Says:

    Simon!!! I totally forgot about that game. It was a fave of mine, along with Candyland, sorry!, clue, monopoly…can you tell we didn’t grow up having tv??

  21. I still love Simon and Mousetrap but they are from my kid’s childhoods, not mine. We played Monopoly, the Nancy Drew Mystery Game, Sorry and Chinese Checkers. I think that the 1st board games that I remember playing were Checkers and Chinese Checkers. We played lots of card games too like Old Maid and Fish.

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG, BECKY!

  22. Terri Says:

    Becky, your brother looks like you!

    I loved Simon, but also Lite Bright, Life, Operation, and Othello. My favorite toy by far was my Easy Bake Oven!

  23. Tilda Says:

    Clue hands down! Me and my siblings played it ALL the time!

    When I was really little in the summer we would play catch the lightning bugs in a jar! LOL!

  24. Jenn Says:

    i still love me some simon! i have one somewhere that gets pulled out when we get bored :)
    when i was in midle school, i loved the game Girl Talk. too much fun at slumber parties!!!

  25. veronica Says:

    I thought it was Simon. ;)

    I loved Operation…but the buzzing scared me…I always thought I would be a surgeon…an LMFT is close enough…ahaha!

  26. Alyssa Says:

    My favorite game was always Monopoly. I would play it with my teddy bear (so basically I would play by myself). And I always won. :)

  27. Delia Says:

    Not sure what the thing was called, but there were these toys we had, that you had to put water in them and then press the buttons to get these fish to swim to the top..

  28. Music-Band Says:

    Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Reachton
    k, just want to say hi :)
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.


Leave a Reply

